By: Morgan Smith (@muvamorgs) for Fashion Bomb Daily

 

Chanel? Versace? And Wang?! Oh my. New York’s fashion scene was alive and well this weekend as three of the biggest design houses held shows over the course of the week, giving consumers a little taste of what is to come for FW19 with their Pre-Fall 2019 collections!

 

To get the party started, the “arty animal” himself, Alexander Wang, opened the week with his star-studded show with celebrities like Teyana Taylor, 21 Savage, and our very own editor, Claire Sulmers. The “Collection 2” show called “American Hustle” is mixture of social class stereotypes to put the idea of status symbols in a different light. Feelin like an outsider as a young boy, he was always questioning whether he fit in with his upper class peers. From snakeskin mixed with rugby sweaters to women in deconstructed suits, he is dismissing the question of “where do I fit in” and breaking the rules of status and stereotypes to promote individuality. And, if you would like the finer things in life, you have to work hard and hustle.

Model: Adut Akech Bior, @adutakech
Model, Anyelina Michell @anyelina.m_22
Model, Anok Yai @anokyai
Model: Kaia Gerber @kaiagerber
Model: Jessica Stam, @jessicastamofficial

 

In the city of bright lights, Versace surely achieved the mood of New York through a replica of the Statue of Liberty’s torch in gold. Versace’s Pre-Fall collection was more of a celebration as it was held on Giani’s 72nd birthday if the great was still with us and the partygoers included Kanye West and Kim Kardashian, Young Thug, Lupita Nyong’o, and Tracee Ellis Ross amongst others. With this collection, Donatella showed her love for NY by depicted the modern on-the-go NY woman through luggage and the printed head scarf with sunglasses combination completed with the signature Versace elements of vibrant prints and signature gold. She even brought back the famous safety pin dress from the 1994 Spring collection.

Model: Selena Forrest, @selenaforrest
Model: Imaan Hammam, @imaanhammam
Model: Luna Bijl, @mxlunaa
Model: Vittoria Ceretti, @vittoceretti
Model: Lineisy Montero Feliz, @lineisymontero

 

The Chanel Métiers d’Art 2019 collection was very much Egyptian-inspired as models were seen strutting with black eyeliner and all gold everything. Even some of the models have their legs painted in gold! Karl Lagerfeld truly knows how to get into a theme as the show was held at the Temple of Dendur at The Met which showcases the architecture of an ancient Egyptian temple. Of course, a Chanel collection would not be a true Chanel collection without the use of the famous tweed material. Lagerfeld references a trip through the times with ancient, classic Chanel, and futuristic references through the Métiers d’Art 2019 collection. Also, you can’t wrong with using Pharrell as a model.

Model: HyunJi Shun @iamhyunjishin
Mode: Soo Joo @soojmooj
Model: Pharrell Williams @pharrell
Model: Adesuwa Aighewi @adesuwa

Pictures courtesy of Vogue

Does this get you excited for FW19 NY Fashion Week? What were you favorite looks, Bombers and Bombshells?

Subscribe

Subscribe now to our newsletter