The Council Fashion Design of America (CFDA) Awards this year stands true to its title as the Oscar’s of fashion. Held in New York at the Hammerstein Ballroom, fashion’s finest celebrities witnessed moving moments from awardees Janelle Monáe, Pat McGrath and double awardee Raf Simons.

The singer, actress and now Board of Directors of the CFDA, Janelle Monáe, was awarded with the “Board of Directors’ Tribute” and gave a powerful speech to acknowledge women and equal rights for all people. She said, “Women’s rights are human rights. LGBTQ rights are human rights. Poor folks’ rights are human rights. Immigrant rights are human rights. Minority rights are human rights. So as human beings, let’s never forget that none of us are free until all of us are free.”


Known as the most influential make-up artist in the world, Pat McGrath wore her crown high as she represented Black Girl Magic with the Founders Award for Beauty.


Raf Simons just may have made history. Since taking over Calvin Klein as Chief Executive Officer for both womenswear and menswear he dominated this year’s win as designer of the year in both categories. This hasn’t happened since Calvin Klein himself won back in 1993.

Read below for a full list of award recipients:
Womenswear designer of the year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Menswear designer of the year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein

Accessories designer of the year: Stuart Vevers for Coach

International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Balenciaga & Vetements

Founders Award: Pat McGrath for Beauty

Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani

Board of Directors’ Tribute: Janelle Monáe, Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Fernando Garcia, Laura Kim

Founders Awardee, Pat McGrath poses with Karen Elson and Adwoa Aboah

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Awardee, Rick Owens

Coach designer, Stuart Vevers who won Accessories Designer of the Year

Swarvoski Award for Emerging Talent Awardees, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia pose with actress, Kerry Washington

Model Alek Wek @msalekwek and International Awardee, Demna Gvasalia pose for the camera

Board of Directors Tribute Awardees: President of Planned Parenthood, Cecile Richards; Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe
What do you think?